FAA Medical Certification

Your FAA Designated Aviation Medical Examiner
FAA Medical Certification admin August 19, 2021
FAA medical certification

The Federal Aviation Administration requires that Pilots receive recurring medical examinations. The examination is performed by a Preventive PLUS Aviation Medical Examiner (AME) who is designated by the Federal Aviation Administration. The AME has the authority to examine applicants for airman medical certificates and to issue or deny issuance of certificates. The regulations of airman medical standards are contained in Title 14 Code of Federal Regulations ßß 67.1-31.

faa medical certification

We are your FAA designated aviation medical examiner

Preventive PLUS is your designated FAA Aviation Medical Examiner for 1st, 2nd and 3rd Class Pilots to receive their airman medical certificates. We have also been granted special designation for Air Traffic Controller certification and performing HIMS Evaluations. HIMS AMEs are trained in evaluating airmen for substance- or alcohol-related conditions or other mental conditions. HIMS AMEs can provide sponsorship and monitoring for such conditions when required by the FAA for medical certification purposes.

Medical Certificate

To obtain a medical certificate you must be examined by an FAA-designated Aviation Medical Examiner (AME). As the airman you should follow these steps to apply for and obtain your medical certificate:

  • Use MedXPressto complete the initial portion of the application and obtain your confirmation number.
  • Schedule an appointment with Preventive PLUS.

At your scheduled appointment, we will complete your medical examination and the remainder of the FAA application form. If you meet the required medical standards, we will issue you a medical certificate.

FAA medical certification program overview

Under Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR) Part 1, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) defines a medical certificate as “acceptable evidence of physical fitness on a form prescribed by the Administrator.” The primary goal of the airman medical certification program is to protect not only those who would exercise the privileges of a pilot certificate but also air travelers and the general public.

A person who meets FAA airmen medical standards, based on a medical examination and an evaluation of medical history, is entitled to a medical certificate without restriction or limitation other than the prescribed limitation as to its duration. Individuals required to hold a medical certificate must have it in their personal possession at all times when exercising the privileges for which they are licensed.

  1. First Class
  2. Second Class
  3. Third Class

Height, weight, pulse
Head, face, neck, scalp
Vascular disease
Nose, sinuses, mouth, throat
Abdomen, anus, rectum
Ears, eardrums
Ophthalmoscopic Exam

EKG for First Class Applicants age 35 and yearly after age 40
Other Tests as required by FAA

Airmen Medical Certificate FAA Form 8420-2